WhatsApp New Features: Choose Who Can See You Online and Exit Group Privately

WhatsApp New Features
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit

In order to provide users more control over their chats and additional layers of security when communicating, Meta’s founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg on Tuesday unveiled three important privacy upgrades for WhatsApp.

WhatsApp users can now manage who can see when you’re available, leave group chats quietly, and block screenshots on view-once messages, among other features.

The ability to leave a group privately without informing everyone has been added to WhatsApp. Now, only the admins will be notified when a member of the group leaves, as opposed to the entire group. This month, the feature will be made available to all users.

WhatsApp also included the feature that lets you control who can and cannot see when you’re online. This month, the feature will gradually become available to all users. Also available on WhatsApp enabling screenshot blocking for ‘View Once’ messages for an added layer of protection.

According to Ami Vora, Head of Product at WhatsApp, “Over the years, we’ve introduced interlocking layers of protection to help keep their conversations secure, and the new capabilities are one way we continue to deliver on our pledge to keep messages private.”

Additionally, “New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: leave group chats without informing anybody, choose who can see when you’re online, and block screenshots on view-only messages. Mark Zuckerberg, the founder, and CEO of Meta stated, “We’ll keep developing new ways to safeguard your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face discussions.

Meta owns products such as WhatsApp, Instagram, and Facebook.

WhatsApp users will be able to leave a group discreetly without having to inform everyone thanks to the “Leave Groups Silently” capabilities. Now, just the admins will be informed after leaving, as opposed to the entire group. This month, all users will begin to receive this feature.

Users can feel more connected to one another by seeing when friends and family are online, but everyone has had instances when they wished to check their WhatsApp in secret. The ability to choose who can and cannot see when you’re online is a new tool that WhatsApp is bringing for the times you want to keep your online presence private, the company stated in a statement. This function will begin rolling out to all users this month.

Additionally, screenshots for ‘View Once Messages’ will no longer be allowed in the instant messaging app. It was mentioned that “View Once” is already a very well-liked method of sharing images or other types of data that don’t require a permanent digital record. For an additional layer of security, WhatsApp is now enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages. This functionality is currently being tested and will soon be available to users,

The business went on to say that the launch of these new capabilities is supported by a recent WhatsApp privacy survey, which indicated that 72% of people appreciate the ability to talk honestly and unfiltered, but that more than 47% can only do this in a safe, private setting.51% of people would rather remain anonymous online to pick and choose who they talk to when they need more privacy. Blocking features are regarded as important by 91% of those who are aware of them. Because of this, WhatsApp is adding new security measures to allow users to communicate freely and in private.

Whatsapp will launch a new education campaign to raise awareness of the new capabilities, starting in the UK and India.

Focused on developing product features at WhatsApp that provide users more authority and privacy over their messages. Whatsapp has introduced interlocking layers of security to help keep chats private throughout the years, and the new features are one way they stay true to that promise.

Share This Article:

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit

Related Posts